RSS Feed

Thank you TAP for an Amazing Year

by Amanda Davis, Marketing Associate VISTA

photo by Twin Sisters Photography

It’s hard to believe that a year has already passed here at Theatre Action Project, and that today I must take my leave to other adventures in life.

A year ago, I began a journey in AmeriCorps and became the Marketing Associate VISTA here at TAP. To be honest, I was scared about the steps that it was going to take to be an AmeriCorps member. I was a bit timid and shy at first. I had just moved to a place where I knew no one and taken a job that was sure to be a learning experience, but as time wore on that timidness soon came to shed and I took on the responsibilities of my job and my zany personality shone through. I’ve developed so many new friendships and a well-known knowledge of how even indirect service can help provide change. Throughout the year, my service has had me working with social media, graphic design, learning how to meet design deadlines and working with so many amazing people, among many other countless activities. I have watched our presence grow within the online community throughout this year and watched as our staff took on the role of writing daily blogs to keep everyone updated on all things TAP. Like all aspects in life, you learn as you go sometimes and take any opportunity to learn. It has been quite an epic year, full of learning and life and I wouldn’t trade it for the world on the experiences that I have gained.

Today, I want to thank everyone that I have worked with for the amazing service year here in Austin, at Theatre Action Project. This has been an amazing learning experience in both job and life and I am so glad that I got to experience this. Margaret Mead once said, “Never doubt that a small, group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.” Well I am proud to have had this opportunity to have been a small part in change here and am ready to see where life leads me on my next great adventure!

About creativeactionaustin

We are based in Austin, Texas and reach more than 16,000 young people every year through our unique blend of theatre and education programs.Our programs expose young people to critical social problems and offer opportunities for them to creatively think about how they can be a part of solutions to these problems. Creative Action is a unique blend of art and education – for us, the two are intertwined. We believe that using the arts as a teaching method provides a fun, engaging and inspiring way to learn – it incorporates the whole mind and body.

Talk to Us