RSS Feed

Hey there Little Red Riding Hood

by Freddy Carnes, Artistic Associate

I think Spring Break  and Summer Camps have always been special for me.  It probably started when I was in 2nd Grade when I went to the YWCA Summer Camp in Beaumont, TX, where I grew up.  On the last day of camp,  we put on a show for the parents up in the gym.  There was activities from gymnastics and tumbling, to trampoline and art projects being displayed.  We would always end the showcase with some skit.  That year we ended with a version of Little Red Riding Hood to the song “Hey there Little Red Riding Hood” by Sam the Sham and the Pharaoh’s.   They cast one of the girls as Little Red Riding Hood, but I got to play the Big Bad Wolf complete with costume.  The girl was supposed to skip around during the song and drop Oreo’s on the ground.  My job was to chase her and pick up the Oreo’s and put them in my back pocket.  The audience loved the skit and I felt like I gave the role of the Big Bad Wolf my all.  As I sat down on a chair, I suddenly realized that I had 10-12 Oreo’s in my back pocket!  It was the best Oreo mush I ever ate! This memory from 2nd Grade is one that I will always remember.  On that day I knew that I loved performing and I was given an opportunity to try.  That’s what all children need: the chance to try.  “Hey, there Little Red Riding Hood.  You sure are looking good …”

If you are looking for an amazing Spring Break or Summer Camp to send your child too, registration is open for our camps. Click here to for more information!

About creativeactionaustin

We are based in Austin, Texas and reach more than 16,000 young people every year through our unique blend of theatre and education programs.Our programs expose young people to critical social problems and offer opportunities for them to creatively think about how they can be a part of solutions to these problems. Creative Action is a unique blend of art and education – for us, the two are intertwined. We believe that using the arts as a teaching method provides a fun, engaging and inspiring way to learn – it incorporates the whole mind and body.

Talk to Us

