RSS Feed

Meet Amanda Davis, the new Marketing Associate VISTA

by Amanda Davis, Marketing Associate VISTA

This week I, Amanda Davis, joined Theatre Action Project (TAP), as the Marketing Associate AmeriCorps VISTA. I am so excited that I am getting the opportunity to work here and support the arts. In May of 2010, I graduated with a degree in Communications with an emphasis in graphic design and photography, from Benedictine College in Kansas. Through this degree, I learned that the media can shape the world and change lives; I wanted to change them for the positive. I have always had a love and passion for the arts since a young child and believe that everyone should be allowed to follow their passions. Getting the chance to follow that passion into a low-income area is what drew me not only to AmeriCorps, but to TAP.

Last week, I had the chance to attend my Pre-Service Orientation (PSO) in Albuquerque, New Mexico to become a proud member of AmeriCorps VISTA. I was joining so many others on a journey to help in poverty areas and make a difference. While there, I was able to meet so many amazing people, that were passionate about what they were doing, thus reaffirming my reasoning’s for joining VISTA and TAP. I knew my passion for art could make a difference and that moving over 850 miles from home, and leaving my comfort zone, to work was where I needed to be.

TAP interested me not only because of the media position but because of what they were doing (inspiring youth and the adults to solve the real world problems they face every day, through art and theatre). I have always been a huge advocate of the arts and believed that the arts are what keep people motivated and intrigued; without the arts that grace our life things would be pretty dull. Art is the spice of life!

My goals, as the Marketing Associate VISTA, are to make TAP more present in the community through social media, printed materials and our website. I really want to leave this year having helped to let the community know more about us.

In being new here, not only at TAP, but in the Austin community I would love to extend to you the excitement that I have about this great city. If anyone has any suggestions for great events, food or other things about this area that I should check out, I am totally open to it. Anyone out there that has volunteered or been a part of TAP or AmeriCorps, thank you for all that you do and letting me join you on this great journey. If you have any suggestions about anything, let me know.

About creativeactionaustin

We are based in Austin, Texas and reach more than 16,000 young people every year through our unique blend of theatre and education programs.Our programs expose young people to critical social problems and offer opportunities for them to creatively think about how they can be a part of solutions to these problems. Creative Action is a unique blend of art and education – for us, the two are intertwined. We believe that using the arts as a teaching method provides a fun, engaging and inspiring way to learn – it incorporates the whole mind and body.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Thank you TAP for an Amazing Year «

  2. Aw, how lovely Brenda!

    It's so great to have Amanda here.
    – Mary Alice Carnes, TAP

    Reply
  3. Welcome to you Amanda! Your passion for the arts was evident the moment I met you, and I'm sure you will have an amazing journey! Best of luck to you!

    ~Brenda Hamilton
    Hard Hatted Women
    Cleveland, OH

    Reply

Talk to Us