RSS Feed

Autumn

by Amanda Davis, Marketing Associate VISTA

Copyright by Amanda Davis, Mandolin Artworks

I watch as a leaf floats to the ground amongst its other fellow leaves. Today is the start of my favorite season, autumn. I have been absolutely in love with this season my whole life. The crisp air, beautiful orange, yellow and red leaves, and being able to wear jeans and a light jacket just brings me so much joy and elation. A year ago, I was working in upstate New York during this period (which is absolutely gorgeous in the fall); little did I know that in autumn 2011 I would get the opportunity to experience this great season in Austin, TX.

This year is my first year away from an autumn such as the one that I have described above (I am not really use to it still being this warm in September), but none the less, this is still my favorite season. This season always meant that I was well into a month of school and getting the opportunity to learn and create was at full speed. I have officially been at Theatre Action Project for 7 months now, working my little heart away at an organization that I believe is really bringing out the key elements that I believe in, I am still learning and creating at full speed, just like when I was little. Autumn here at TAP also means that our programs are in full swing and that we are really putting our 4 C’s (Creative Artist, Courageous Allies, Confident Leaders, Critical Thinkers) to the test. I can wait to hear the stories that come from our schools and get the opportunity to share them with everyone. Also being a photographer here at TAP, this means that many more photos will be coming in the following months. Keep up to date on our photos and events by following us on Facebook and on our Flickr.

What was your favorite thing to do in the autumn as a kid? What fun projects do you remember from school?

About creativeactionaustin

We are based in Austin, Texas and reach more than 16,000 young people every year through our unique blend of theatre and education programs.Our programs expose young people to critical social problems and offer opportunities for them to creatively think about how they can be a part of solutions to these problems. Creative Action is a unique blend of art and education – for us, the two are intertwined. We believe that using the arts as a teaching method provides a fun, engaging and inspiring way to learn – it incorporates the whole mind and body.

Talk to Us