RSS Feed

Combating Boredom

by Amanda Davis, Guest Blogger

Summer has began and even here in Missouri it is starting to warm up. Summer for me always meant that I couldn’t truly enjoy being outdoors for more than a few hours because of the heat. When I was younger it also meant the summer boredom after more than a few weeks of being out of school. So to combat that boredom, I would always take the opportunity and go to summer camp or take summer classes to keep my mind fresh. It made summer much more enjoyable.

Well, even as an adult I need to work on keeping my mind creative sometimes. This May and June, I decided to start on a new project. For the last 16 days, I have been working on a creative challenge called the 30 Day Drawing Challenge. I have been doing a new drawing and posting it on my personal blog every day. This has allowed me to not only keep my mind fresh, but by the end to have 30 awesome new drawings. The best part about this challenge is making each drawing a little different and mixing up my mediums. In a way, I feel as though I have created my own summer drawing camp.

Theatre Action Project has many resources for your own kids to keep them creative during the summer. Each week, summer camp will introduce them to some new creative endeavor that can combat that summer boredom and bring out the creative child that you have.

P.S. My favorite summer camp memory comes from me being a camp counselor in Upstate New York during the summer of 2009. As Arts and Crafts Counselor, I had fun teaching art to the girls, but the best part of camp was the friends that I made that summer. My favorite event of the summer was Red VS Green, a relay among the staff doing zany activities. I was on Green Team and even though we lost, it was still one of the best staff activities we ever did.

About creativeactionaustin

We are based in Austin, Texas and reach more than 16,000 young people every year through our unique blend of theatre and education programs.Our programs expose young people to critical social problems and offer opportunities for them to creatively think about how they can be a part of solutions to these problems. Creative Action is a unique blend of art and education – for us, the two are intertwined. We believe that using the arts as a teaching method provides a fun, engaging and inspiring way to learn – it incorporates the whole mind and body.

Talk to Us