RSS Feed

Springtime Brings Renewal

by Amanda Davis, Guest Blogger

“Ohio Falls” by Mandolin Artworks

There is something in the air that brings out my creativity in the spring and having the luxury to sit outside while creating makes it even more special. The inspirations to glance around at the colors that surround us within this season bring about many artistic ideas. This brings into thought for me about how we can take something so out of the ordinary in everyday life and spice it up to be extra special.

I have had many opportunities for springtime art, but one of my favorite paintings was born during this season. I was in a painting class my sophomore year at Benedictine College with a professor by the name of Dr. Carol. This man was absolutely incredible and known for teaching just about any student how to paint. He loved to inspire us, by telling us to truly connect with our art by becoming a kid again. To have the passion to reconnect with that inner child just made the art blossom so much more. The painting that I created was of a waterfall I had photographed on a trip to Ohio that spring and had been in awe and wonder at how it would look as a painting. I still wish at times that I was in possession of this painting, but I had painted it for a friend. The way the spring and Dr. Carol had inspired this painting was by allowing me to reconnect with that kindred spirit of mine, by allowing me to be free like the spring air.

Every day at Theatre Action Project there is that opportunity for the teaching artists to connect with their students and bring about that sense of renewal. TAP is fully inspiring students to always stay connected to that part of them that makes life extra special.

Amanda Davis is a former AmeriCorps VISTA volunteer who served Theatre Action Project from 2011 to 2012.

About creativeactionaustin

We are based in Austin, Texas and reach more than 16,000 young people every year through our unique blend of theatre and education programs.Our programs expose young people to critical social problems and offer opportunities for them to creatively think about how they can be a part of solutions to these problems. Creative Action is a unique blend of art and education – for us, the two are intertwined. We believe that using the arts as a teaching method provides a fun, engaging and inspiring way to learn – it incorporates the whole mind and body.

Talk to Us