RSS Feed

Gifts from the Heart

by Amanda Davis, Marketing Associate VISTA

One of my favorite things about the holidays is getting to see my family and give them the gifts that I have created with my own two hands. Every year since I can remember I have made some kind handmade gift for my parents, even a few friends have received some over the years. In the past few years, I have been learning how to up cycle (create things from many already made items) as well as make many gifts in a frugal way. I have taken apart old calendars and made them new again, crocheted scarfs, blankets and hats, and painted many gifts. I find that sometimes the best gifts in life are the ones you can create and give to others, gifts from the heart.

One of my favorite gifts that I ever made went to my household brothers and sisters my last year in college. My mother went to a thrift store and found some old blue and pink iridescent ornaments (that I have to admit were pretty darn ugly, but that really didn’t matter in the end). That year I had really got into learning about graffiti as an art form and wanted to give something to the amazing people I shared so much of my senior year with. I took these ornaments and the graffitied each person’s name on one and presented them at our Christmas Party. The look on their faces when they received them was the best. They couldn’t believe that I had taken my time to make these. This year is no different in the homemade gift department. I have worked to create something that my family will love and put my full heart into it.

Giving a gift doesn’t have to cost a lot. If you are looking for a way to contribute to Theatre Action Project at this time of year, look no further than our Amazon TAP Wishlist. Peruse the virtual shelves for a book for yourself or your kids, and then take a look at TAP’s Books We Love Wishlist. Books will be shipped straight to us and help to provide students that we work with a bit of creativeness.

Have a wonderful Holiday Season!

About creativeactionaustin

We are based in Austin, Texas and reach more than 16,000 young people every year through our unique blend of theatre and education programs.Our programs expose young people to critical social problems and offer opportunities for them to creatively think about how they can be a part of solutions to these problems. Creative Action is a unique blend of art and education – for us, the two are intertwined. We believe that using the arts as a teaching method provides a fun, engaging and inspiring way to learn – it incorporates the whole mind and body.

Talk to Us