RSS Feed

New Year, New Intern

by Mitch Harris, Community Relations Intern

Hello blogosphere,

My name is Mitch Harris and I am Theatre Action Project’s newest Community Relations Intern.

I am a senior Theater Performance major and Journalism minor at St. Edward’s University. I originally hail from Hereford, Texas (the beef capital of the world) but Austin has been my home for the past three years.

While I may be a newbie here at TAP, I am no stranger to the arts and non-profit scene in Austin. In the summer of 2011, I worked as an intern for our friends over at the Austin Creative Alliance.

I found out about TAP through some creative education endeavors of my own. Last summer, I founded a group named Conqui-Story-Dores which sought to inspire 3rd-5th grade students to become creative writers. After leading the program for nearly a year, someone asked me, “Have you ever heard of Theatre Action Project?” And the rest, my friends, is history.

I’m thrilled to be here contributing in my small way to the good that TAP does in the lives of over 16,000 students annually.

P.S. My favorite school memory took place in Mrs. Josserand’s 3rd grade class. After a fierce “Who could make their face the reddest?” contest during recess, I ended up passed out for a couple of minutes on the playground. But I still hold the record for reddest face in the 3rd grade.

About creativeactionaustin

We are based in Austin, Texas and reach more than 16,000 young people every year through our unique blend of theatre and education programs.Our programs expose young people to critical social problems and offer opportunities for them to creatively think about how they can be a part of solutions to these problems. Creative Action is a unique blend of art and education – for us, the two are intertwined. We believe that using the arts as a teaching method provides a fun, engaging and inspiring way to learn – it incorporates the whole mind and body.

Talk to Us

