RSS Feed

Hard to Say Goodbye

by Katie Grills, Community Relations AmeriCorps VISTA

Culture, language, and the intangible things that make a place what it is are constant preoccupations for me as a writer. These interests also make it challenging for me to let go of the experiences I have in life. In other words, it’s hard to say goodbye.

My time as an AmeriCorps VISTA at Theatre Action Project (TAP) will always populate my imagination as a time of color and joy—a place where good-willed artists come together with the intention to see the world changed for the better, and actually see their wildest dreams for the next generation come true.

Here are some of the amazing things that have happened this year that I will never forget:

  • The nearly 2,700 hours of time that volunteers selflessly gave
  • The smiles and huge hearts of more than 200 people who were compelled to pass through our doors to give freely of their time and talents
  • The endless well of wisdom that I had to draw from in our staff, and especially from Mary Alice, my wonderful supervisor and dear friend.
  • The support and warmth of the Austin community
  • The unbridled creative spirit of young people

I am forever grateful for the work that TAP does, and I will continue living and working for their mission to develop creative artists, courageous allies, critical thinkers, and confident leaders wherever I go. My next step is a move to Atlanta, GA, where I hope to continue cultivating a career in the nonprofit sector. I want to continue being an advocate for the arts, and especially for the crucial part that creativity plays in the development of the lives of young people.

Many thanks to the TAP community for carving out a place in my heart and mind that will stay there for years to come.

About creativeactionaustin

We are based in Austin, Texas and reach more than 16,000 young people every year through our unique blend of theatre and education programs.Our programs expose young people to critical social problems and offer opportunities for them to creatively think about how they can be a part of solutions to these problems. Creative Action is a unique blend of art and education – for us, the two are intertwined. We believe that using the arts as a teaching method provides a fun, engaging and inspiring way to learn – it incorporates the whole mind and body.

Talk to Us

