RSS Feed

Meet Thea, TAP’s Intern

by Thea Kohout, Intern at Theatre Action Project

Thea Kohout and LillieHollingsworth at TAP Camp

Hello! I’m writing this week in order to introduce myself and brag a little about how much I love Theatre Action Project and what I’m doing here.

My name is Thea Kohout and I’m a rising junior at Kenyon College in Gambier, Ohio. I am majoring in Gender Studies in addition to minoring in Art History and concentrating in Latino/a Studies. I worked at TAP camps last summer as an intern, but am in the office this time. Last summer was lots of fun getting to hang out and do art and music and theatre with a bunch of kids every day,  but I am so excited to be in the office this summer because I get to do some really cool stuff while I’m here.

I’m very interested in the ways that education, activism, and art all intersect. Having read a lot about alternative pedagogies from people like bell hooks, Amalia Mesa-Bains, Paulo Freire, and Ari Palos, I have a lot of thoughts concerning alternative arts-based pedagogies and I am lucky enough to be able to do research on this subject for TAP this summer. I’ve also been finding great multicultural children’s books for our library and am looking forward to being useful in creating curricula and teaching guides.

Other things I have done so far:

  • Help build gigantic and beautiful puppets for the summer pageant
  • Learn how to screen print t-shirts
  • Sew a green-screen for the Lights, Camera, Action! camp last week (previously, I had been too scared to even touch a sewing machine because they were so foreign to me)
  • Help to organize the supply areas.

Suffice to say, I am attempting to fit a little bit of everything into my summer here.

About creativeactionaustin

We are based in Austin, Texas and reach more than 16,000 young people every year through our unique blend of theatre and education programs.Our programs expose young people to critical social problems and offer opportunities for them to creatively think about how they can be a part of solutions to these problems. Creative Action is a unique blend of art and education – for us, the two are intertwined. We believe that using the arts as a teaching method provides a fun, engaging and inspiring way to learn – it incorporates the whole mind and body.

One response »

  1. We’re so happy to have you here this summer, Thea! And no one leaves TAP without learning how to sew. 🙂

    Reply

Talk to Us

