RSS Feed

Courageous Leaders Start Successful Clubs in Gullet Elementary

We are so proud of the courageous leaders of Gullet Elementary School. After Courage in Action, a four-day residency with Theatre Action Project visited Gullett’s 5th graders about a month ago, the students formed two clubs which continued meeting independently: The Hunger Helpers and SAAT (Stop Animal Abuse Team).

The Hunger Helpers launched a highly successful food drive and SAAT is about to launch a pet food and supply drive. And that’s just the beginning. SAAT in particular has big plans for the future. Check out the photo gallery below to see what they and the Hunger Helpers have been up to, and what they’re planning next.

A favorite excerpt from a letter one of our courageous leaders wrote to her principal after our 4-day program:

“We are looking for homes for [Lou, the cat we found], and I am sure there are plenty of people who will love him/her, and he/she would be a great family cat. But I am not [writing you] looking for homes [for Lou today]. I am looking for help for other animals in Lou’s name. (He didn’t die, I am just wanting to do it for him), so I was wondering if we could have and animal food drive. I mean, we have people food drives, why not some for animals, too?
I also want to make a difference. I can. It doesn’t matter your age. I am a kid, but I am NOT just going to sit around waiting for adults to make the difference for me. Because guess who is going to be the adult tomorrow? Me. So why wait? People will listen. Animals have a voice. We just need to listen and help. And I want to help because I hear the plea. I will keep trying, and never give up. I CAN make the world a better place, and I will. I will start small. I hope you take this into consideration!”

To learn more about Courage in Action, visit us at http://theatreactionproject.org/prog_ip_action.html and get inspired!

About creativeactionaustin

We are based in Austin, Texas and reach more than 16,000 young people every year through our unique blend of theatre and education programs.Our programs expose young people to critical social problems and offer opportunities for them to creatively think about how they can be a part of solutions to these problems. Creative Action is a unique blend of art and education – for us, the two are intertwined. We believe that using the arts as a teaching method provides a fun, engaging and inspiring way to learn – it incorporates the whole mind and body.

3 responses »

  1. SAAT COMMITTEE

    We are having a food drive at Gullett Elementary on Treadwell Boulevard off of shoal creek from now until may 30th and we are looking for donations. Acceptable donations are old towels, unused dog toys,non artificial human and pet food as well as a bake sale this Friday from 3:00 to 4 in the afternoon. hope to see you there.

    Reply
  2. I’m so proud of this group of kids!! What a great school Gullett must be to have such caring students! I’m sure the support of their teachers makes them feel confident enough to take on projects like these and let their voices be heard! They ARE our future adults!!!

    Reply

Talk to Us

