RSS Feed

Change Agent

by Tanisa Bernard, Social Networking Marketing Assistant Volunteer, Junior League of Austin

“I like myself, but when he’s around he makes me feel bad.” That’s what my youngest child told me one afternoon after Spanish class.

How does a confident, bright, child full of smiles suddenly become someone else? I was so bothered; it prompted me to check out Theatre Action Project‘s screening of Bully on April 11th.  The movie really hit home for me how devastating the words of a child can be to another. Watching Bully made me upset at times, but it also caused my daughter to have a heart-to-heart talk with me about what she was experiencing.

After-school programs like TAP’s that focus on bullying prevention have a profound impact on how kids view themselves and how they react to bullying. Because of TAP’s outreach to the community, my daughter is now herself a “change agent.” When asked how she feels when he comes around she says, ‘My friends and I now stick together and tell him “you are not the boss, be nice!”‘

About creativeactionaustin

We are based in Austin, Texas and reach more than 16,000 young people every year through our unique blend of theatre and education programs.Our programs expose young people to critical social problems and offer opportunities for them to creatively think about how they can be a part of solutions to these problems. Creative Action is a unique blend of art and education – for us, the two are intertwined. We believe that using the arts as a teaching method provides a fun, engaging and inspiring way to learn – it incorporates the whole mind and body.

One response »

  1. Thank you Sharon and Emily and the team at Tower PR!

    Reply

Talk to Us

