RSS Feed

Memories Worth Remembering

by Natalie Goodnow, Artistic Associate

I love getting thank-you letters from students, especially when they are unsolicited. It really does mean very, very much to me, and I keep them all. Most are on bulletin boards by my desk, to remind me what I’m working for even when I’m not in the classroom or on a school campus. In my (almost) five years of working with youth with Theatre Action Project, however, I think this is the best thank you letter I’ve ever received. It was addressed to Keri Boyd and me, from a student at Redeemer Lutheran in our Courage in Action TAP in the Classroom program.

The text reads:
Dear Agents 89 & 11, 
Thank you so much for coming and showing me what it means to be a courageous leader. It will come in handy to know how to
speak up for what I need to. The best part was getting to play and laugh at the same time while learning. Y’all have made the courage inside of me very strong. The truth is that before y’all came I didn’t know what I wanted to be but now I know exactly what I want to be. I promise I will try to always be a courageous leader. Once again thank y’all so much. Y’all are the best.
Sincerely, Angela R.

Thank You message from above

Agents 89 and 11 are the main characters in the Courage in Action program who lead students through a story inspiring them to be courageous leaders

About creativeactionaustin

We are based in Austin, Texas and reach more than 16,000 young people every year through our unique blend of theatre and education programs.Our programs expose young people to critical social problems and offer opportunities for them to creatively think about how they can be a part of solutions to these problems. Creative Action is a unique blend of art and education – for us, the two are intertwined. We believe that using the arts as a teaching method provides a fun, engaging and inspiring way to learn – it incorporates the whole mind and body.

Talk to Us

