RSS Feed

Creating Art with a Purpose

by Erik Weasenforth, Marketing Associate VISTA

I’m Erik Weasenforth, the new Marketing Associate VISTA for Theatre Action Project (TAP). I’ve always had a passion for creating art with a purpose, so joining AmeriCorps VISTA for Theatre Action Project excited me at the opportunity to exercise my creativity and artistic skills to help communities in need. In May of 2011, I graduated from Purdue University (West Lafayette, IN) with a degree in Computer Graphics Technology with an emphasis in animation, and a minor in Art & Design. My goals for this year are to increase TAP’s presence in the community through social media, our website, and print, but I also want to incorporate more video and animation into the mix.

Last week I went to Pre-Service Orientation (PSO) in Albuquerque, NM to become an AmeriCorps VISTA where I had somewhat of a revelation. I learned many facts about poverty that I wouldn’t have known if I hadn’t become a VISTA. It really gave me a whole new perspective on how much of an impact I’ll be having while working at TAP. I also met a lot of other people who came from completely different backgrounds who were all there for the common purpose: Fighting Poverty with Passion. I’ve moved around a lot, having lived in Illinois, California, Virginia, Texas, and spending four years in Indiana for college, so I love meeting people of different backgrounds. I had a great time at PSO, and I believe this year will be a great one for me as I grow with TAP in the great city of Austin, Texas.

Yesterday I volunteered at the Zilker Park Kite Festival in Austin, which was awesome! So many people came and got involved. I’m new to Austin, and I feel like this city is more active and connected than any other city I’ve been to. Every day it seems like I’ll talk to complete strangers, whether it’s at Zilker Park looking at birds or on the bus into the city. I feel welcome in Austin and at Theatre Action Project. 2012 is already off to a great start to my year of AmeriCorps service, and I look forward to the accomplishments to come.

P.S. My favorite hairstyle is Will Smith’s from Fresh Prince. See you at TAP’s Big Hair Country Fair on March 24th at the Salt Lick Pavilion! To buy tickets visit: TAP Big Hair. Proceeds benefit Theatre Action Project.

About creativeactionaustin

We are based in Austin, Texas and reach more than 16,000 young people every year through our unique blend of theatre and education programs.Our programs expose young people to critical social problems and offer opportunities for them to creatively think about how they can be a part of solutions to these problems. Creative Action is a unique blend of art and education – for us, the two are intertwined. We believe that using the arts as a teaching method provides a fun, engaging and inspiring way to learn – it incorporates the whole mind and body.

Talk to Us

