RSS Feed

My Simple Valentine

by Sharon Chin Li Ping, University of Texas Tower PR

How’s everyone recovering from the candy binge from Valentine’s Day? I am definitely still on a sugar high. My valentine’s day started with an 8 a.m. class, followed by a test and work for the rest of the day. The office was decorated with paper hearts, flowers and candy on everyone’s table. It seems like we were still stuck with the elementary school Valentine’s Day ritual of exchanging candy and cards with sweet messages to everyone in the office.

I was pretty resourceful with my card decorating this year. I used all the colored pens I could find in the office supplies box, and even used a sponge as stamps on the card – it is all about the texture you see. While I didn’t have anyone particular in mind while decorating my card (it was simply a mindless decoration for the office desk,) I thought about things and people I love. Valentine’s Day is not a commercial holiday you spend with your beau, but a celebration of love.

Though it was a simple day of card decorating and candy eating, this valentine’s day, I celebrated my love for everything I am thankful for; the company I have not only today, but in times of need and thankful for one of the things I hold closest to my heart – the love for the arts. If not for my love and passion for the arts, I would not be who I am today. If not for the love and great appreciation of the arts, we will not be able to see the impact it has made on countless of people today.

“Love is like art, (it) brings us happiness, great moments, inspiration and many things you can imagine…” – Javier ZhX

About creativeactionaustin

We are based in Austin, Texas and reach more than 16,000 young people every year through our unique blend of theatre and education programs.Our programs expose young people to critical social problems and offer opportunities for them to creatively think about how they can be a part of solutions to these problems. Creative Action is a unique blend of art and education – for us, the two are intertwined. We believe that using the arts as a teaching method provides a fun, engaging and inspiring way to learn – it incorporates the whole mind and body.

Talk to Us

