RSS Feed

Creative Thinking Born in Arts Programs

by Emily Watkins, University of Texas Tower PR

In college, professors expect you to think outside a so-called “box”. Essentially they want you to think differently than everyone and have an original idea. Additionally employers are looking for creative thinkers and expect you to bring a unique insight to their company. But where do you learn how to be a creative person?

For me, creativity is something I learned through my arts programs in grade school. My first exposure to the arts was in my junior high musical “School Daze” and I sang about being a “brace face” and crushing on the football star. After my acting debut, I continued to join various arts programs such as choir, dance and color guard. I am less afraid of making presentations or cold calling because I sang about braces in front of an audience. In color guard, I learned how visuals and music can create magic and now I can edit film to perfection. In band, I learned how one person does not sound as impressive as the entire ensemble and now I can coordinate a team to produce a great final product.

If I had not had the arts education that I had, I would not be as successful in college and I would not be as impressive to employers. I wouldn’t be the unique, different, creative and outside-the-box kind of person I am today.

What lessons did you learn in school arts programs that you still use today?

P.S.  I am thankful for the wide variety of arts programs my school district provided for me and for a mother who pushed me to try them all.

About creativeactionaustin

We are based in Austin, Texas and reach more than 16,000 young people every year through our unique blend of theatre and education programs.Our programs expose young people to critical social problems and offer opportunities for them to creatively think about how they can be a part of solutions to these problems. Creative Action is a unique blend of art and education – for us, the two are intertwined. We believe that using the arts as a teaching method provides a fun, engaging and inspiring way to learn – it incorporates the whole mind and body.

Talk to Us

