RSS Feed

The 4Cs and Me

by Patrick Torres, Middle and High School Program Director

TAP's Courage in Action All Stars at Austin City Hall, Summer 2011

Here at Theatre Action Project, we have just kicked off the new school year. That means we are already hard at work facilitating programs that offer students in the Austin area opportunities to make a positive impact in their communities by becoming Creative Artists, Confident Leaders, Courageous Allies and Critical Thinkers, or the 4Cs.

We believe that if we can help young people develop these characteristics, then our impact will be far-reaching. But, in order to be truly successful, we can’t just expect this of our students. As a staff, we must also strive to live out the 4Cs and be receptive to the ways the students can develop this as well.

For me, I spend most of my time in the realm of the Critical Thinker. I enjoy wrestling with ideas and get excited about solving complex problems that often arise when you work in education.

However, I admit that I have a much more difficult time being a Courageous Ally. I usually try to avoid conflict and the more I can go unnoticed, the better! But my work with our teachers on strategies to help our students grow in their capacity to live out the 4Cs made me realize that it is important for me to stand up against injustice if I expect that from my students.

If I really believe the 4Cs are qualities to strive for, then I need to work to meet the criteria as well. So, I am going to spend this year learning alongside our students to be more creative, to stand up against injustice, to think critically about the issues facing our community, and to confidently find solutions to those issues. After all, if we truly want a better community, we are all in it together

So, which of the 4Cs do you identify with the most? Which ones do you need to develop? How can TAP help you develop a 4C human being?
Join us in the process of helping our youth and our community be the best we can be!

About creativeactionaustin

We are based in Austin, Texas and reach more than 16,000 young people every year through our unique blend of theatre and education programs.Our programs expose young people to critical social problems and offer opportunities for them to creatively think about how they can be a part of solutions to these problems. Creative Action is a unique blend of art and education – for us, the two are intertwined. We believe that using the arts as a teaching method provides a fun, engaging and inspiring way to learn – it incorporates the whole mind and body.

Talk to Us

