RSS Feed

Back to School

by Patrick Torres, Middle School and High School Program Director

I know it may seem strange, but I have always loved getting ready for school to start back up after summer break. I remember being a child and getting very excited about picking out my school supplies, and I hate to shop. But, picking out the right pens and pencils was something I looked forward to all summer. Every year, I spent an inordinate amount of time trying to pick out the perfect binder. The best one I ever bought was a Transformers Trapper Keeper I got in 5th grade!

Even though I haven’t been a student for quite some time, I still find myself getting very excited about the start of a new school year. Right now at Theatre Action Project, we are gearing up to start our programming for the 2011 – 2012 academic year. And while we are extraordinarily busy hiring new teaching artists, revising our handbooks, and adding to our list of schools we will be serving, I find that I have that same sense of anticipation for school to start that I did when I was a child. Each new school year has always felt like there were endless possibilities before me. Right now I am excited to see the amazing projects our teaching artists will achieve, how many new students will be introduced to TAP, students becoming confident leaders, creative artists, courageous allies, and critical thinkers.

Follow us on our blog or our Facebook page to keep up with every amazing story that develops over the course of this year. It promises to be great!

About creativeactionaustin

We are based in Austin, Texas and reach more than 16,000 young people every year through our unique blend of theatre and education programs.Our programs expose young people to critical social problems and offer opportunities for them to creatively think about how they can be a part of solutions to these problems. Creative Action is a unique blend of art and education – for us, the two are intertwined. We believe that using the arts as a teaching method provides a fun, engaging and inspiring way to learn – it incorporates the whole mind and body.

Talk to Us

