RSS Feed

TAP Summer Camp is Fantastic!

by Patrick Torres, Middle and High School Program Director

Theatre Action Project has started summer camp!

This first week, our focus is on Fantastic Tales. I have to admit I was very nervous about starting camp because it has been several years since I have found myself teaching elementary students. Every time I work with this particular age group, I worry that I won’t be able to relate to them and that they will lose interest in what I am trying to teach them. This is also my first camp with TAP, so I was anxious my contributions to Fantastic Tales might not be fantastic at all. After finishing my first day at camp on Monday, I realized one simple truth…I worry too much! What I tend to forget about elementary school students is that they are extremely perceptive and their imaginations inspire me! The campers’ energy and enthusiasm reminded me of the power of our own imaginations to create worlds and characters that have never been thought of before. In the two groups I taught on Monday, the students created a diversity of interesting characters including: a knight the watches over his underwater kingdom, a 5-year-old explorer named Squeeky, and a boy who turns into a tornado. These young people are succeeding at this camp because they are fantastic and the tales they will tell at the close of camp on Friday will reawaken your imagination.

If you have a child that needs a creative outlet this summer, remember it is not too late to register for our other camps! If this first week is any indication of what is to come, then we are going to create some top-notch art over the next two months! Don’t miss out on being a part of it!

About creativeactionaustin

We are based in Austin, Texas and reach more than 16,000 young people every year through our unique blend of theatre and education programs.Our programs expose young people to critical social problems and offer opportunities for them to creatively think about how they can be a part of solutions to these problems. Creative Action is a unique blend of art and education – for us, the two are intertwined. We believe that using the arts as a teaching method provides a fun, engaging and inspiring way to learn – it incorporates the whole mind and body.

Talk to Us

