RSS Feed

Growing up with Theatre

 

By: Chelsea Gilman, Business and Development Associate

Theatre has played a huge role in my life, starting from the time I was born.  I would always attend plays with my family and participate in youth theatre camps during the summer.

So as I was deciding on a major in college, I settled on theatre, simply because I wasn’t sure what else made sense for me.  I’d been performing in Dallas’Jr. Players: Shakespeare in the Park for 3 summers and in high school theatre productions, in addition to serving as President of my high school theatre department.  Then, as I considered I’d need a job after college and perhaps moving to NYC to audition for roles wasn’t for me, I decided to pursue a business minor.

Now, with a theatre major and a business minor, working in the office at Theatre Action Project seems like just the perfect fit.  In a time when so many college graduates are looking at their degree and their current job with little to no correlation, I’m proud I was able to take my education and put it directly to use.

Eight years ago, I took a theatre-in-education class at The University of Texas because it was sounded like an interesting elective and I needed one more theatre elective to add to my last semester of school.  But little did I know that years later I’d be back in Austin and working at the organization that my professor started.  My group in the class took our touring show to some of the same places TAP tours today.  I performed using many of the techniques we use to engage young audiences in an interactive art form aimed at bringing audiences in and allowing them to use their own creativity to express themselves, goals, struggles, and possible solutions to life’s challenges.

About creativeactionaustin

We are based in Austin, Texas and reach more than 16,000 young people every year through our unique blend of theatre and education programs.Our programs expose young people to critical social problems and offer opportunities for them to creatively think about how they can be a part of solutions to these problems. Creative Action is a unique blend of art and education – for us, the two are intertwined. We believe that using the arts as a teaching method provides a fun, engaging and inspiring way to learn – it incorporates the whole mind and body.

Talk to Us

