RSS Feed

The Power of Theatre


by Patrick Torres, Middle and High School Program Director


For the past nine years I have been working as an arts educator and theatre director in Washington, D.C. Most recently, I was the Associate Artistic Director at Young Playwrights’ Theater teaching students to express themselves clearly and creatively through the art of playwriting. During my time in D.C., I had the opportunity to work with incarcerated youth, the homeless community, and students from all over the world to create original plays. And while I will always cherish each of those experiences, I can say without question, “It is good to be home.”

I was born and raised in Odessa, TX. Shockingly, it was there that I got my first taste of the power of theatre. I confess that I committed the worst sin in West Texas – I quit playing football the year before I turned varsity to join the drama club! At the end of my senior year, I directed a controversial play called Loyalties by Murphy Guyer. The play confronts audiences’ perspectives on patriotism and war, and it caused a stir when it was finally performed. Some parents were so angry about the content of the play that they did not want their children to be friends with me any longer. My reaction was,

“Wow. I can’t believe directing a play has infuriated people this way…I want to do this for the rest of my life!”

Now that I am a little more mature, I recognize that what was so exciting about that experience in high school was seeing the power of art to lead people to examine their thoughts, perspectives and beliefs.

  • Theatre requires us to sit in a room together and wrestle with our own preconceptions of social issues, morals, and personal choices.

  • It can teach us empathy, conflict resolution and critical thinking.

  • And it can inspire us to take action to create the kind of world we want to live in by sparking civic dialogue and encouraging social change.

For these reasons, I believe it is critical that every young person is exposed to the arts throughout their lives. The lessons taught by participation in the arts equip our youth with the skills they will need to succeed in the 21st century.

Theatre Action Project is preparing students for the future by letting them know that their voices have power and their experiences and imaginations have the potential to change the world around them. I am humbled to be a part of the team and look forward to all of the youth I will have the privilege of teaching. I look forward to hearing their stories and seeing the difference they will make in their communities.

Join us at our Youth Arts Festival on May 21st to see what our students have been up to! See you there!

About creativeactionaustin

We are based in Austin, Texas and reach more than 16,000 young people every year through our unique blend of theatre and education programs.Our programs expose young people to critical social problems and offer opportunities for them to creatively think about how they can be a part of solutions to these problems. Creative Action is a unique blend of art and education – for us, the two are intertwined. We believe that using the arts as a teaching method provides a fun, engaging and inspiring way to learn – it incorporates the whole mind and body.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Guest Post: Theatre Action Project « Speak Up Speak Out Blog

Talk to Us

