RSS Feed

A Message From Cassie Swazye, TAP’s New VISTA After School Program Associate


I joined Theatre Action Project (TAP) this week as their After School Program Associate, supporting the Teaching Artists in the TAP After School (TAPAS) programs, and as TAP’s third AmeriCorps VISTA member. In 2008 I received a BA in Arts Administration with a focus on community based fine arts programming. My background, arts education, and lifelong service history led me to TAP and AmeriCorps VISTA. I participated in a variety of after school programs throughout elementary, middle, and high school.

TAP’s mission appealed to me as an adult who found her own voice through fine arts. I spent four years participating in the Loop Press program at Whitworth University, experiencing firsthand the positive effect diverse voices have on the artistic approach.

Not only does TAP encourage creativity in Austin’s schools and neighborhoods, but it supports the city’s community of working artists and performers.

My goals as TAP’s After School Program Associate are to:
• Encourage TA’s to connect with each other;
• Share their experiences as educators, and
• Grow together to make TAP’s programming even stronger.

If you’re at TAP volunteer, family member, Teaching Artist, board member, supporter, or VISTA volunteer, I invite you to send me your thoughts as I begin my TAP journey. What suggestions do you have for me as I begin? I’d love to hear from you.

Join Cassie Swayze at TAP’s Youth Arts Symposium, Saturday, November 13 from 10 a.m. – 4 p.m. at the ACC Eastview Campus, 3401 Webberville Rd Austin, TX 78756. The Youth Theatre Symposium is an opportunity for middle and high school students in Austin to participate in creative workshops taught by local theater professionals. FREE event, open to all community. Check out our blog from other TAP VISTA volunteers by clicking here.

About creativeactionaustin

We are based in Austin, Texas and reach more than 16,000 young people every year through our unique blend of theatre and education programs.Our programs expose young people to critical social problems and offer opportunities for them to creatively think about how they can be a part of solutions to these problems. Creative Action is a unique blend of art and education – for us, the two are intertwined. We believe that using the arts as a teaching method provides a fun, engaging and inspiring way to learn – it incorporates the whole mind and body.

Talk to Us

