RSS Feed

“The optimist pleasantly ponders how high his kite will fly; the pessimist woefully wonders how soon his kite will fall.”

I was definitely the optimist.

I was born in Austin but spent the first five years of my life living in Corpus Christi. My cousin and I used to be obsessed with going to this play ground we named “Play Place.” I remember after I had moved to Austin getting so excited about visiting family in Corpus just so I could have the chance to go to Play Place. I found though that every time I went back it got smaller and smaller, and thus less and less exciting.

I was growing up, growing out of my need for a Play Place. I have so many wonderful memories of running around, going up and down the slide, playing pretend: “I’m captain to a ship at sea!” Now “I’m flying a space ship!” At five, I knew how to have fun.

Let’s talk about the day I successfully flew my first kite. I remember what a perfect beautiful day it was; everyone was at the park. My dad had bought me this great octopus kite. I was really into sea creatures at the time. I collected sea shells, watched little Mermaid every day; I used to dream about becoming a mermaid princess. Anywho, I decided to name the kite Eureeka, because I was also very into Eureeka’s Castle. Despite my best efforts, I was having trouble getting Eureeka up in the air.

My dad came to the rescue. After she was flying for a few minutes he let me hold the string; so exciting. I remember that feeling of accomplishment. “That’s my kite and it’s flying because of me!” Of course then some seagull came out of no where, ran into my flying octopus, and it’s sad to say that Eureka didn’t make it.

I was pretty upset but the next day my dad surprised me with another kite and all was right with the world. We went back to the park and flew my new kite and this time she made it through the day.

Come check out the Zilker Kite Festival this weekend on Sunday March, 7th from 10am to 5pm! Come play with us! We’ll have puppet shows and face painting. You’ll take home a kite story you’ll never forget.

Author: Sarah Garza, Community Relations Assistant

About creativeactionaustin

We are based in Austin, Texas and reach more than 16,000 young people every year through our unique blend of theatre and education programs.Our programs expose young people to critical social problems and offer opportunities for them to creatively think about how they can be a part of solutions to these problems. Creative Action is a unique blend of art and education – for us, the two are intertwined. We believe that using the arts as a teaching method provides a fun, engaging and inspiring way to learn – it incorporates the whole mind and body.

Talk to Us

